Tuesday, July 18, 2017

U2 1981-08-16 Slane Castle Dublin, Ireland

Dublin, Ireland
Slane Castle

"Same Song, Different Words"

Equipment: ???

Source: 3rd gen audio cassette > Extigy external soundcard > Cool Edit Pro > WAV > mkwAct > SHN
Quality: Good audience recording

remastered and compiled by John Telleria (u2phoenix@cox.net)

Track Listing - Total Time: 0:55
01. With a Shout
02. Twilight
03. I Will Follow
04. I Threw a Brick through a Window
05. An Cat Dubh
06. Gloria
07. Rejoice
08. October
09. Stories for Boys
10. Boy/Girl - I'm a Believer (Monkees)
11. Out of Control
12. Happy Birthday
13. Fire
14. 11 o'Clock Tick Tock
15. The Ocean


U2's only Irish date during 1981, supporting Thin Lizzy at Slane Castle in County Meath just outside of Dublin.
U2 debut 6 tracks from the forthcoming album October.
Bono and the crowd sing "Happy Birthday" for Edge's girlfriend Aislinn.

A bit of cleanup was needed with this 3rd gen audio cassette recording. 
Cool Edit Pro was used to normalize the audio to 98% and remove some of the tape hiss without affecting the music.

There is a slight edit 2:21 into Out of Control and another 1:37 into Fire.


No comments:

Post a Comment