Friday, March 17, 2017

Sex Pistols 1976-09-17 HM Prison Chelmsford Essex, England, United Kingdom

September 17, 1976
HM Prison Chelmsford
Essex, England, United Kingdom

unknown > unknown

TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223Q > Exact Audio Copy v0.99 prebeta 5 > Izotope RXII Advanced > CD WAVE 1.98 > Trader's Little Helper 2.7.0

"Live At Chelmsford Prison" (DOJO CD 66) CD > WAV [44.1kHz/16bit] > Izotope RXII Advanced (see NOTES) > FLAC [Level 8]


01. Anarchy In The UK
02. I Wanna Be Me
03. Seventeen
04. New York
05. Don't Gimme No Lip Child [Dave Berry]
06. (I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone [Paul Revere & The Raiders]
07. Satellite
08. Submission
09. Liar
10. Substitute [The Who]
11. Pretty Vacant
12. Problems
13. No Fun [The Stooges]
14. Did You No Wrong


In my opinion, the three-month stretch from August-October 1976 was the peak of the Sex Pistols
as a live band.  Most of the surfaced tapes from this period demonstrate a band that is tight,
tuned, and both competent and confident.  This gig from Chelmsford Prison is a great performance,
and one of the best, if not THE best sounding, show from this period.  Unfortunately, the bass
is pretty much's completely missing from the soundboard mix, other than a bit
of ambient picked up from the other instrument mics.  Jones plays great, though; Cook is solid,
as usual, despite a few miscues from being pissed, and Rotten is downright chatty as he tries
to get a rise from the unusual audience.

This show has been released on a number of CDs over the years, most of them HEAVILY altered. 
This Dojo release is perhaps the cleanest of them, with NO canned "riot" audio lifted from a
movie, no piss-poor Johnny Rotten imitator blathering between songs, and no studio overdubbed
bass licks.  For some reason, every CD release bollocks up the set list.  The song order in
this torrent is very likely correct, based on the typical setlist from this era, contemporary
reviews of the gig, and a few audio clues sprinkled throughout.

I used Izotope RXII Advanced to put the songs in the correct order, and normalized the tracks
for more consistent volumes throughout the shows.  No further EQ or editing has been done.  Enjoy!


No comments:

Post a Comment