Thursday, March 16, 2017

Rush 1978-11-20 Tucson Convention Center Arena Tucson, AZ

November 20, 1978
Tucson Convention Center Arena
Tucson, AZ, USA
+2 bonus tracks (date unknown)

"A Desert Passage - Platinum Edition"
Digital Reproductions 12078-8
(fan-based absolutely non-profit release)

SBD > ANA(1)+filler > Editing & Mastering by "Digital Reproductions" using unknown software > SHN (original version seeded twice at STG) > FLAC (level 8, tested & verified identical)

01. Intro
02. Anthem
03. A Passage to Bangkok
04. By-Tor And The Snow Dog
05. Xanadu
06. Announcement
07. Something For Nothing
08. The Trees
09. Cygnue X-1
10. Hemispheres
11. Closer To The Heart

01. Circumstances
02. A Farewell To Kings
03. La Villa Strangiato
04. 2112
05. Working Man
06. Bastille Day
07. In The Mood
08. Drum Solo
Bonus tracks:
09. Something For Nothing
10. Cygnus X-1

Notes: A real must-have. This is the exact audio which was seeded at STG in SHN format, now converted to FLAC, verified identical and fully tagged using foobar2000 v0.8.3. Artwork from DRE is included.

Reviews from DRE:

The Digital Dan
   (Audio - 9)

This is the even fuller soundboard from the infamous Tucson show. This show is actually an amalgamation of several sources using the best source for the overall show and filling in any problems or adding extra material from other sources. Many of the bootlegs from this period have captured the part where Neil is warming up on the drums while music is playing over the PA. For the first time that I am aware of, we get to hear the actual song that is played before the band takes the stage. It's rather interesting music to start off a Rush show with to say the least. The sound changes right before the line "With our people left..." through the section right after "My ship Rocinate..." line in Hemispheres, and then sound changes back to normal. That was present in all four sources I had for this show. The section of Hemispheres that was cut (Dream Sequence) was filled in from the same section of the Detroit '78 soundboard. Being only 13 days apart, the performance was virtually identical and the sound close enough to make a fairly seamless transition. If you are a purist and this bothers you greatly, I would suggest going with "Every Soul's a Battlefield" which is another fine production of the full soundboard with almost no treatments to the raw source. But if you are a semi-purist, you'll be happy to know that no noise reduction was used on this production. At the end of the show, two bonus tracks were included, "Something for Nothing" and "Cygnus X-1". Both originally appeared with the Frankfurt '79 source, but became apparent than these two tracks do not belong to any of the known soundboards from this era. Therefore they are a kind of "mystery" as to where they come from.

The performance itself is quite excellent and also very unique. The extended intro is interesting, though not remarkable in and of itself. The problems with the crowd are further expounded upon by the venue management after Geddy is unable to gain the cooperation of the massing crowd. Cygnus X-1 is finally presented in an uncut format. And we finally have the rest of 2112 and the encores. Geddy has a little fun with Lerxt in the Working Man lyrics. Then the soundman decides to do some interesting things to the sound of each of them during the Medley. Geddy's vocals are changed considerably during "In the Mood" and some of the effects on Neil's drums are quite interesting in the Drum Solo. All in all the definitive Rush concert. Many thanks to Rubicon for donating one of the sources used, and many thanks to the others that donated sources, but wished to remain anonymous. As with all Digital Reproductions releases, this is for free trade or blank media trade only. If someone is trying to sell this show, they are trying to rip you off and profit off the work of others. Please visit the DRE Newsgroup to find other Rush fans that will gladly trade the show for free.

Ron's Rush RoIO Review
   (Audio - 8)

If there is ever an award for the most-often-upgraded bootleg, this one is sure to win. This show has gone from a partial, distorted source to finally (in May 2000) the full, glorious-sounding show. Amazing how much better a bootleg can sound when produced properly! My first exposure to this bootleg was with the "Cygnus" disc. The difference between that boot and this source is like night and day. This is a remarkably clean bootleg that came straight from the soundboard. The sound is nothing short of stellar – you can hear every nuance of the band's playing here. It's especially sweet to hear Alex's guitar here, as he seems to have attained the perfect effects balance on this night. The show is also a bit unusual in that Geddy delivers a severe reprimand to the crowd, who apparently is pushing quite a bit at the start of the show. Interestingly enough, this tape reveals that one of the road crew (Skip Glidersleeve? Liam Burt?) also asks the crowd to move back. This was deleted from every other source. The only real flaws are a cut in the middle of "Hemispheres" and at the end of "Cygnus X-1." Even considering gems such as the 12/2/78 and 5/28/79 soundboard shows, this one gets my vote for the best sound.


No comments:

Post a Comment