Monday, July 31, 2017

David Bowie 1974-11-25 Spectrum Theatre Philadelphia, PA

David Bowie
Spectrum Theatre
Philadelphia, PA
November 24, 1974

Source: XLIIS Cassette (unknown gen) --> TEAC w600r Tape Deck --> RealTek HD Sound Manager --> Audacity --> Speed Correct 8.117% --> Wav --> FLAC Front End 8 --> Upload

Description: OK gang, I'm not going to lie to you.  This recording is not very good.  BUT - I believe it's probably the best available quality.  Since Soul Tour leg shows are still SO rare, it's probably worth the download.  I took my original tape on this and speed corrected it, so now I can at least make out the dialogue ("lead guitar, Earl Slick."  "This is a fast song...". 

This tape actually had great potential for a 1974, it has a strange sound, much more full than other '74 tapes, especially from the Soul Tour.  This leads me to believe that decent equipment may have been used, but it turns out distorted, for the setlist, pretty incredible that by this time Bowie was down to around 14 songs in the set, you can clearly here the hoarse voice in Young Americans.  Still, a historical relic, and outside the Maloney recording from 11/15, this is worth having.  If you don't have it grab it, and try not to grit your teeth too much.


1. Memory Of A Free Festival
2. Rebel Rebel
3. John, I'm Only Dancing (Again)
4. Sorrow
5. Changes
6. Young Americans
7. 1984
8. Rock N'Roll With Me
9. Love Me Do/The Jean Genie
10. Moonage Daydream
11. Can You Hear Me?
12. Knock On Wood
13. Suffragette City
14. Rock N'Roll Suicide

15. Diamond Dogs

From the Blackout archives.


No comments:

Post a Comment