Sunday, May 28, 2017

Bruce Springsteen 1975-09-16 Convention Center Theatre Dallas, TX

Bruce Springsteen
Convention Center Theatre
Dallas, Texas
September 16, 1975

Transfer: Low Generation 1980's tape trade > MacBook Pro > Audacity > Peak Pro XT (pitch correction / volume smoothing / subtle tweak / edit / index) > xACT 2.21 > FLAC

01 Incident On 57th Street
02 Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
03 Spirit In The Night
04 It's Gonna Work Out Fine
05 It's Hard To Be A Saint In The City
06 The E Street Shuffle
07 Born To Run
08 Thunder Road
09 Kitty's Back
10 Jungleland
11 Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
12 4th Of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)
13 Quarter To Three
14 Carol

I've been meaning to share this one for a while now but it continually moved down the que for one reason or another, I decided it was time to get it out.

A solid material upgrade to the currently circulating version transferred from my low generation source. I started tape trading in 1981 and this was one of the first shows I traded for, taking place about 45 minutes from where I lived at the time. I was but a young lad then and it would be another 3 years before I had my first live Bruce experience that changed the way I viewed live music.

The currently circulating version is extremely low volume, distant and has a liberal amount of hiss. Though not up to the standards of the better audience recordings this low gen tape transfer, of the same source, has good volume and only a touch of hiss with a very subtle tweak it doesn't have the same distant feel to it. It's a satisfying listen and I think you could move it a tick above the "for completists only" category.

Brucebase lists both 'Growin' Up' and 'She's The One' as being played but they do not appear on either the circulating version or this transfer. Both songs were pretty common to the '75 shows so I would assume the taper missed them for some reason.

Artwork included in download...



No comments:

Post a Comment