Thursday, May 11, 2017

John Lennon 1974-09-28 WNEW, New York

John Lennon on WNEW, New York
September 28, 1974

"Listen To This Radio Show" on Mad Scott Records

Lineage: Beatlegs Internet Tree - EAC - tlh - Dime

From a review: "Excellent and unique content: John talks music! He's really into how music borrows from itself to create new forms, and illustrates this by playing albums from his personal collection. There are so many cool bits to this interview. For instance, he notes that the stereo mixing of the Blue and Red Albums were in his opinion terrible! Overall John seems very natural, warm and conversational."

Another highlight among the John Lennon spoken word recordings. John promoted 'Walls & Bridges' quite heavily during his "lost weekend" period, at one giving an interview to 20 DJs at the same time in a chaotic conference call. John dropped by three radio stations in September, KSAN-FM in San Francisco, KHJ-AM in LA (with him taking calls as well, one of them from the guy who ran the Wizardo bootleg label and asked about "What's The New Mary Jane") and this most famous appearance.
It certainly worked, "Whatever Gets You Through The Night" made it to number one for the weekend of November 10 - 16, bookended by "You Ain't Seen Nothing Yet" by BTO and Billy Swan's "I Can Help" and the album reached the top of the charts as well.

CD 1
01. Intro Dr. Winston O' Boogie        1:20
02. Whatever Gets You Through The Night     (John's intro only)
03. About The New Album        4:55
04. #9 Dream    (Removed)
05. More About The Album    1:37
06. George Martin    1:07   
07. Oldies But Goldies    1:02
08. Watch Your Step    (Bobby Parker - Removed)
09. Day Tripper     (The Beatles, Removed)
10. Butcher Album / US Albums    4:48     
11. I Call Your Name    (The Beatles - Removed)
12. Commerical / ELO    1:29
13. Showdown    (ELO - Removed)
14. I Heard It Through The Grapevine    (Marvin Gaye - Removed)
15. Producing Pussy Cats / LA    3:27
16. Save The Last Dance For Me    (Harry Nilsson - Removed)
17. Weather / Solo Beatles    3:27
18. Gravy Train    (Splinter - Removed)
19. I'm The Greatest    (Ringo - Removed)
20. What You Got    (Lennon - Removed)
21. Playlist / Station Identification / Commericals    4:11

CD 2
01. More About Playing Oldies        1:07
02. Some Other Guy    (Ritchie Barrett - Removed)
03. What'd I Say    (Ray Charles - Removed)
04. Piano--guitar Licks / Rolling Stones    3:02    
05. I Wanna Be Your Man        (Rolling Stones - Removed)
06. I Wanna Be Your Man        (The Beatles - Removed)
07. The Rolling Stones            2:12    
08. Daddy Rolling Stone        (Derek Martin - Removed)
09. Station ID / Immigration        5:47       
10. Scared    (Lenon - Removed)
11. Scared Outro            0:24       
12. Commercial / Heroes            3:38   
13. Doing Radio                3:23       
14. About 'I Am The Walrus'        0:24       
15. I Am The Walrus    (The Beatles - Removed)   
16. More About Walrus / Revolution #9    2:04       
17. Beef Jerky / Outro            0:25

Bonus Tracks:
Interview with Howard Cosell on the "Speaking of Everything" Radio Show. October 6th, 1974.        
18. Immigration Case    9:03       
19. The Beatles        5:23       
20. The Beatles Today    3:09
21. Lennon Today    9:33
22. Monday Night Football 1/2 Time Guest    1:51       
23. Walls And Bridges Run Down            2:00       
24. Walls And Bridges Radio Spot w. Ringo    1:06
25. Walls And Bridges Televison Spot        0:25

You now have two options, just grab the interview parts only and put it on 1 CD (leaving out all or a few of the bonus tracks) or recreating the releases by substituting the songs from other sources - preferred but more work. Artwork and more information is here:

See video of track # 22 here:



No comments:

Post a Comment