Thursday, February 22, 2018

Neil Young 1985-02-22 Western Springs Stadium, Auckland, New Zealand

Neil Young
Western Springs Stadium, Auckland, New Zealand

w/ The International Harvesters (01-17) And Crazy Horse (18-26)

  01 . Are You Ready For The Country?
  02 . Comes A Time
  03 . Are There Any More Real Cowboys?
  04 . Fingers
  05 . Heart Of Gold
  06 . Amber Jean
  07 . Too Far Gone
  08 . Roll Another Number
  09 . California Sunset
  10 . Southern Pacific
  11 . Don't Let It Bring You Down
  12 . Soul Of A Woman
  13 . Old Man
  14 . The Needle And The Damage Done
  15 . My My, Hey Hey
  16 . The Old Laughing Lady
  17 . After The Gold Rush
  18 . Cinnamon Girl
  19 . Cortez The Killer
  20 . Don't Cry No Tears
  21 . Touch The Night
  22 . Misfits
  23 . Like A Hurricane
  24 . Hey Hey, My My
  25 . Powderfinger
  26 . Sugar Mountain

Tour :     1985 Tour of Australia & New Zealand

Band :     Neil Young - vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano
    Ben Keith - pedal steel guitar, vocals
    Anthony Crawford - guitar, banjo, fiddle, vocals
    Frank Sampedro - guitar, keyboards, vocals
    Billy Talbot - bass, vocals
    Ralph Molina - drums, vocals
    Larry Cragg - banjo, autoharp
    Joel Bernstein - guitar

Lineage:    ? > CDR's trade > EAC > WAV > TLH > FLAc

Discs:    2
Quality:    *** (see you notes)
Arts:    Yes

Here is Christopher Small's original notes about the sound quality:
This is an audience recording, probably from some place in the back. There is obvious crowd noise (whoops, occasional clapping along, talking), as well as some other harder-to-pin-down noise (someone crumping up a potato chip bag?). There were fireworks during the show, which are audible, and elicited more whoops. The source disc has some noticeable jumps between songs, and some between-song discontinuities, as if it had been dubbed TAO at some point.
On the copy I am distributing I edited out the blank space, but could do nothing about the discontinuities.
The last song (Sugar Mountain, probably an encore) was missing the first bit; I faded it in, instead of having it start abruptly.
There is digital cruft (sounds like the CD is skipping) on at least a couple of songs. I tried ripping the songs multiple times, with different software (EAC and CDex), on different drives (Philips and Lite-On), with no luck.
The problems include Cortez at 2'22", Cortez between 4'00" and 4'10", and Powderfinger from 2'24" to 2'27".

The show is quite listenable and enjoyable. Enjoy!!!



No comments:

Post a Comment