Friday, June 16, 2017

Led Zeppelin 1977-06-11 Madison Square Garden New York, NY

11 June 1977
New York, NY
Madison Square Garden
Source: audience
Quality: very good/good

Source 1: Master > CDR > ? > FLAC > CDR(2) > EAC > WAV > Sound Forge (edit clicks between tracks) > shntool (correct sbe's) > FLAC > dBPowerAMP > WAV (originally treed through FBO), speedcorrected

Source 2: unknown gen Cass > X-Fi > Clean! >WaveLab > FLAC > dBPowerAMP > WAV (sean_the_bootlegger source), speedcorrected
Original notes from Sean:
This is a very good tape. It appears our taper was concerned about running out of tape, so he shut it down often between songs and subsequently chopped a few things up. Still, it's worth grabbing.

Source 2: 2nd gen Cass > Video Hifi > X-Fi >WaveLab > FLAC > dBPowerAMP > WAV (sean_the_bootlegger source), speedcorrected
Original notes from Sean:
The end of the June 11th sources. Though the show is still not complete, it does include at least some of Heartbreaker. During Ten Years Gone and No Quarter one channel dropped out completely. I repaired them by turning the missing sections into mono. Unfortunately the video hi-hi had some trouble tracking in some places. Murphys Law. So, for the purists, here it is more source.

Note : the 2nd gen Cass > Video Hifi source is from the same taper as source 2 (same cuts, same crowd noises), it sounds much worse even though it's listed as a known gen (but see Sean's notes. It's a bit more complete and it's been used to complete source 2 wherever possible.

then : > Audacity (speed correcting, merging) > WAV > FLAC frontend > FLAC (level 8)


Disc 1

01 - The Song Remains The Same
02 - Sick Again
03 - Nobody's Fault But Mine
04 - In My Time Of Dying
05 - Since I've Been Loving You
06 - No Quarter

Disc 2

07 - Ten Years Gone
08 - The Battle Of Evermore
09 - Going To California
10 - Black Country Woman
11 - Bron-Y-Aur Stomp
12 - White Summer
13 - Kashmir (slightly cut)

Disc 3

14 - Over The Top (cuts)
15 - Guitar Solo
16 - Achilles Last Stand
17 - Stairway to Heaven
18 - Heartbreaker (cut)

Total time: 181m 13s

Sources breakdown:
From TSRTS to 6'15 of Kashmir: FBO tree source (30" snippet of the unknown gen Cass source merged into NQ)
From 6'15 to 8'15 of Kashmir: unknown gen Cass
From 8'15 in Kashmir to 25" in OTT : 2nd gen Cass > video Hifi
From OTT to the cut in Heartbreaker : unknown gen Cass


Original notes, merging and speed correcting done by lp_zep who's torrented this at Dime in 2005 with a matrix of the sbd/aud portion of the show and videos added as a bonus. I left out the videos as they are easily available elsewhere, the sbd/aud matrix portion has been replaced with the interchangeable audience tracks which he was so kind as to include in his torrent. The text file has been edited by me to reflect what's being offered here and to add my findings upon comparing the different sources he used. Also, I've added an st5 checksum and ffp fingerprints generated with TLH.

The definite version of this great show as far as I'm concerned. Enjoy and thank you lp_zep!



No comments:

Post a Comment