Thursday, June 29, 2017

Neil Young 1984-09-11 Newport Music Hall, Columbus, Ohio

Neil Young 1984-09-11 Newport Music Hall, Columbus, Ohio, USA

1.    Are You Ready For The Country?
2.    Motor City
3.    Comes A Time
4.    Hawks And Doves
5.    Bound For Glory
6.    Are There Any More Real Cowboys?
7.    Amber Jean
8.    Heart Of Gold
9.    Too Far Gone
10.    Roll Another Number
11.    Southern Pacific
12.    The Needle And The Damage Done
13.    Helpless
14.    California Sunset
15.    It Might Have Been
16.    Flying On The Ground Is Wrong
17.    Field Of Opportunity
18.    Old Man
19.    Powderfinger
20.    Get Back To The Country
21.   Soul Of A Woman
22.    Bite The Bullet

Neil Young - vocals, guitar, harmonica
Ben Keith - pedal steel guitar, vocals
Anthony Crawford - guitar, banjo, fiddle, vocals
Rufus Thibodeaux - fiddle
Spooner Oldham - piano
Tim Drummond - bass
Karl T. Himmel - drums
Larry Cragg - autoharp
Joel Bernstein - guitar

Original infofile:
Neil young and the international harvesters
Newport music hall
Columbus, oh
no set list.  If you could post it, that would be great.
I am the original taper of this show.  (2)nak300s>sony TCD-D5.  then nak1000>hhb850>eac>sound forge 6>cdwin>eac

This was the first show ever for the newly christened Newport music hall.  Before it was known as the agora ballroom.  The agora was an old movie/vaudeville theatre.  I have a dead tape from 1970 from there.  I also taped rory Gallagher there in 1982. 

By the time I got to the show there was a line down the block.  By the time I got in I could only set up in the back.  At times it seemed like the crowd was louder than the pa system.  There is some unfortunate obnoxious crowd noise, but what can you do.  All in all I think this is a good recording.  It would be an "A" if not for the crowd noise.  The tape was also made during a time period where I would pause the tape between songs. 
I missed some of the very beginning of songs.  The editing sounded terrible so I did quick fade ins and outs between songs. 

I don't think I ever made a copy of this for anyone.  This is the first release. 

Play it loud!!! Open your windows.   Piss off the neighbors!!!


No comments:

Post a Comment