Monday, June 12, 2017

Roger Waters 2017-06-10 Oracle Arena Oakland, Ca

Roger Waters
Oracle Arena
Oakland, California
June 10, 2017

Recorded by Daspyknows

Recorded from section B row 28 2 seats off dead center
Schoeps MK4/NBox Platinum Tascam DR-2D 24 Bit 48K

Processed using Soundforge 11, resample, to 16bit 44.1K
TLH to convert to Flac

Master 2017.31

Set 1:
01. Speak to Me
02. Breathe
03. One of These Days
04. Time
05. The Great Gig in the Sky
06. Welcome to the Machine
07. Déjà Vu
08. The Last Refugee
09. Picture That
10. Wish You Were Here
11. The Happiest Days of Our Lives/Another Brick in the Wall Part 2
12. Another Brick in the Wall Part 3

Set 2:
01. Battersea Intro
02. Dogs/Sheep
03. Pigs (Three Different Ones)
04. Money
05. Us and Them
06. Smell the Roses
07. Brain Damage
08. Eclipse
09. Band Intros
10. Vera
11. Bring the Boys Back Home
12. Comfortably Numb

Sorry for the missed tracks.  I did this at night and files already staged by
the time I wrote info file. 

So Roger decides to play my least favorite venue in the area, what am I to do?
I was able to score good seats, so it is hold my nose and go for it.  It starts
with $40 parking and no other option.  Parking outside the venue is a guaranteed
car break-in.  I got into the lot early and got to watch a couple of kids (Phish
heads my guess since in my time they were Deadheads) take out a couple of shirts
to sell.  Within 5 minutes there are 8 undercover security busting them and
taking 3 bags of shirts.  Next security getting in is very tight.  Walk throughs,
wands and every pocket emptied.  They took my bottle of waters but found no gear. 
Once inside the water which cost 35 cents outside is $6.50 WITHOUT a cap.  Screw that. 
I get to my seat and maintain a low profile.  I don't want to fall victim to a "If
You See Something Say Something" situations.  As it gets closer to show time 2 guys
grab the seats right in front of me.  One guy is drinking up a storm.  He is the
screamer during the Speak To Me intro.  Finally about 8:20 the lights go down and
the fun begins.  I notice how good the venue sounds.  I don't recall it ever sounding
as good either before or after they renovated the place many years ago.  The crowd
is really into it but luckily the people around were good.  The guy in front excepted.
He has two full beers and he is holding them high and spilling everywhere.  He lights
up and draws the attention of security but within 30 minutes he is passed out in his
seat. The start of the set is amazing with the music and visuals.  Some of the visuals
were familiar from Desert Trip.  Next is a couple of songs from the new album.  I
really liked some of it.  This was the only time the crowd sat down in my section. The
set ends with Another Brick In the Wall Parts II and III with local Oakland kids on
stage.  After a short break the second set starts with the Battersea intro and screens
drop down the length of the floor.  Unfortunately the middle 8 seats can't see a thing.
I did get to see the pig this time around.  I usually don't get to see the pig taping.
The performance of Dogs is out of control.  The band puts on Dog masks and some of the
band drinks champage.  Classic.  This is followed by Pigs (Three Different Ones) with
the heavy anti-Trump visuals.  The Bay Area ate it up and thew loudest cheers happened
here and at the end of the set.  They followed it up with Money and Us and Them which
provided more political expression.  One more new song followed by a stunning performance
of Brain Damage/Eclipse with the lasers like Desert Trip.  Band intros followed by the
same conclusion as last fall. Vera and Bring The Boys Back Home are stunning with the
vocals of Holly and Jess from Lucious.  Finally the show ends with a spectacular version
of Comfortably Numb. I try to quickly get out but they don't make that easy.  I reach my
car and plug in the recording.  I am very happy with it and get to listen to almost the
entire second set trying to leave the parking lot.  One more reason I just hate this venue.  

Just the basic taper requests here and please no vitriol:
Don't be an ass by selling this or using it in a video that is sold
Don't modify the info file
Don't remaster and/or post on other sites that are not 100% free
If shared keep info file intact but create a second file with any changes
Don't convert to lossy formats except for personal use
Do support the artists


No comments:

Post a Comment