Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Neil Young 1971-02-27 Royal Festival Hall London, England

Neil Young
February 27, 1971
Royal Festival Hall
London, England

Analog AUD master > 3rd Gen. Cassette > DAT > Wav > Soundforge 6.0 > CD Wave > CD > EAC > Wav > Soundforge 6.0 > CD Wave > FLAC

CD 1 [40:29.07]

01 On The Way Home  [02:59.63]
02 Tell Me Why  [02:29.16]
03 Old Man  [04:27.42]  %
04 Journey Through The Past  [03:32.52]
05 Cowgirl In The Sand  [05:32.62]
06 The Bridge  [03:59.59]
07 The Loner  [04:54.62]
08 Don't Let It Bring You Down  [04:26.41]  %
09 See The Sky About To Rain  [03:55.60] 
10 Out On The Weekend  [04:10.00]  %

CD 2 [41:17.45]

11 I Am A Child  [03:02.10]
12 Ohio  [03:01.01]  %
13 Love In Mind  [02:15.57]
14 Only Love Can Break Your Heart  [03:23.58]  %
15 Heart Of Gold  [04:27.06]
16 A Man Needs A Maid  [05:04.23]  %
17 Harvest  [04:34.62]
18 The Needle And The Damage Done  [03:30.61]
19 Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing  [05:11.26]  %
20 Dance Dance Dance  [03:38.21]  %
21 Expecting To Fly  [03:08.20]

Neil Young - Vocals, Guitars, Piano, Harmonica

I love this performance, early 70s solo Neil at his peak. One of his best concerts and a fabulous audience recording !
I've traded this show in various formats throughout the years and was NEVER satisfied with it.
Usually, the pitch was way off, I've seen and heard versions both too slow and too fast.
The last one I got was grabbed from another tracker, excellent pitch work but, alas, some of the
hilarious between-tune banter was cut from the original BootCD source used for that torrent.
Aditionally, the sound [in my opinion] was not quite as excellent as one would have hoped for.
So I went back to my old DAT I've received about 10 years ago, described by my usually well informed trading-partner
as coming from a 3rd generation cassette. I've had already started to work on this a couple of years ago but now I've
finished it in a long, exhausting session, painstakingly removing about 50 tiny spots of static, some of which are on the other
versions as well, some are unique to this transfer. I just hope I've found them all ...
% indicates a break in recording, likely on the master.
I left most of the microphone bumps etc. untouched, just cut out one or two that were really disturbing and could be removed
without interfering with the musical content. The original DAT ran a bit too fast so I had to re-pitch it completely, with results
very similar as that recent torrent. Otherwise, I did not harm the sound of this fantastic audience recording in any way.
Naturally, there is some tape hiss but I've heard much worse. Here's hoping that one of these days, we'll get this straight from the master.
No re-mastering, eq'ing etc. was 'performed' and if you wish to do so, do it for your own pleasure in your hobby room...


No comments:

Post a Comment